Eat All the Foods! My Kind of Diet

At various times over the last decade, I’ve tried a variety of diets, including gluten-free, paleo, vegan, and vegetarian. And I came to one conclusion: I like food, and I don’t like to remove entire food groups. For various health reasons, some people need to remove different food groups, so I’m not knocking any diet. I’m simply going to share what’s working for me.

eat-all-the-foods

Thanks to mold exposure that wrecked havoc on my digestive system, I have a physical reaction to almost any food that’s eaten consistently. Nuts, berries, coconut, bananas, squash…the list goes on. I can’t eat them for multiple days in a row. You know those menu plans that list the same thing for breakfast every day of the week? They’re not for me.

But it’s all okay, because as I’ve tried different ingredients, I’ve realized how much I like variety. I’m on a lose rotation die. A strict rotation diet allows you to eat the same food every 4 days – meaning if you ate anything with eggs on Monday, you couldn’t eat them again until Friday. I don’t do that. I might feel marginally better if I did, since there are some things I still eat too often, but I think the stress of following a strict rotation diet would cancel out the benefits.

For me, a lose rotation diet simply means I have a wide variety of foods on hand, and I keep a menu plan to make sure I have a semblance of a rotation.

Throughout the week, I may eat whole wheat waffles, gluten-free bread, and paleo brownies. Muffins may have eggs and cow’s milk, or they may have a chia seed egg-substitute and milk alternative. Nothing is strictly off limits, as long as it’s a God-made food. (I try to avoid most chemical foods, but I don’t beat myself up about it when I do eat the junk.)

Pros: Variety is the spice of life! Every food has a different nutrition profile, and by eating a variety, I’m less likely to be deficient or have an excess of a specific nutrient. And I’m less likely to develop an intolerance to a food, since that’s becoming more common nowadays when you eat the same foods day in and day out. I can also make do with what’s on sale, since I’m used to cooking/baking with different ingredients.

Cons: My grocery list is wide and varied, and it requires plenty of space to keep so many different kinds of food. I’m thankful to have a large pantry and a chest freezer. However, it can be difficult when family members want to cook for me. “Can you eat cashews?” they ask. Well, not today. I’ve eaten them for the last 2 days, and I know from experience that a third day will cause an uncomfortable reaction.

All of that to say, you’ll see different kinds of recipes on this blog in the future. Some may follow specific diets, and some may have ingredients that you’ve never heard of or considered. Things like lambsquarter, mesquite, and teff. Or squash powder, jicama, and purslane.

So what about you — do you follow a specific diet? Are you strict or fairly loose about it?

3 thoughts on “Eat All the Foods! My Kind of Diet

  1. No particular diet here! I like to try most everything. I go through phases with stuff and have found that when I drink less milk my skin seems to be better. Wine and coffee give me hot flashes, but I just can’t seem to exclude them … Only go off them for days eventually resuming.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

